CNC

Starting a exciting CNC project and will post info little by little. I dont have any parts as of yet but i do own some electronics 🙂

My CNC will be controlled via a Arduino. There is a nice open source Stepper Shield on Buildlog:

http://www.buildlog.net/blog/2011/08/stepper-driver-arduino-shield/

I decided to make my own clone just because that one doesnt look as appealing as it should and silk screen is horrible in my opinion. Here is a first look at mines.
Its nice and small. All electronic parts are SMT. It has a Silk screen that even the most clueless person can use.

Just as the on on buildlog it will  use the “Pololu A4988” boards as the actual controllers. This makes layout easier and also i dont have to remake the main controllers. So less chance of me screwing up. 🙂  I need to source those long headers so i might goto eBay or Sparkfun. If you know where i can get them cheap please tell me. Im not rich 😀

Tell me your thoughts with a comment please.

Here is rev 2. It includes a small fan.

About atomsoft

Starting a small company. Trying to build it from ground up. Only 2 employees so far. Nothing serious yet but soon!

4 responses to “CNC”

  1. Devin says :

    Nice looking board. Did you do that yourself?

    I thank you for the reply in Shapeoko group, but I purchased the all in one board fro Riley

    Soon I hope to start doing some basic arduino work (to learn electronics)

    Then the world better watch out LOL

    Devin

  2. AtomSoftTech says :

    Hey Devin. Yeah i made that myself. The All in One looks cool too. I just rather build it myself since i already ordered the Pololu boards with the A4988. Electronics is great. While im just getting into arduino i am great with PIC and ARM microcontrollers. This electronics world is HUGE! So enjoy your time and if there is anything i can do to help feel free to ask. Also feel free to check out the rest of my blog 🙂

  3. Shadyman says :

    You can find the long Arduino headers at Futurlec ( http://www.futurlec.com/ConnHead.shtml ). It’s the fourth group down on that page.

Leave a Reply

