AtomCOM v5.1

atomcom51

 

Thanks to Brian for giving me some tips and clues 🙂

Fixes and updates:
1) Echo works, used to double echo, now single normal echo.
2) No error when trying to send when not connected.
3) Send out file (text)
4) Logging now implemented
5) Hiding/Showing of Config side

Some planned additions for version 5.2 include:

1) Custom color schemes
2) Hand-Shaking for better control

DOWNLOAD

About atomsoft

Starting a small company. Trying to build it from ground up. Only 2 employees so far. Nothing serious yet but soon!

6 responses to “AtomCOM v5.1”

  1. brianjhoskins says :

    Fantastic! That was a very fast update! Sorry for the delayed reply – time zones 😉

    Some more 1st impressions for you:

    1. I like the hide config option – this is better for taking screen-grabs of com outputs for use in blogs etc. If I need a COM terminal output in any of my future blogs/documents I will use your application 🙂

    2. I can’t seem to send new line characters. Am I doing something wrong? I tried checking & unchecking CRLF but it didn’t seem to make any difference. For example, if I put a loop-back on my serial port and type “hellohello” the com shows “hellohello” on the terminal regardless of whether or not CRLF is checked.

    3. The echo now works as I was expecting – great! Except for the fact that there are no new lines, but that is probably related to point 2.

    4. I have had a quick play with the logging and so far it seems to work well. I will try some more extensive logging when I get home and let you know how it goes.

    5. I couldn’t seem to get the send text file option working. When I try to send a simple text file (with just the text “hello world” in it, I get an exception. Also, I noticed that the same exception (with the same exception message) occurs even if I don’t select any text file but I select cancel instead. The exception message I see is:

    System.InvalidCastException: Unable to cast object of type ‘System.Windows.Forms.TextBox’ to type ‘System.IConvertible’.

    6. It would be good if the text file didn’t have to have a .txt extension. Sometimes, for example, I use .dat files but they just have ascii text in them. Or sometimes I use files that have no extension at all.

    7. What is the time entry box (default 250mS) for?

  2. brianjhoskins says :

    RE point 2: I did type hello(enter)hello(enter) in my comment but I use brackets so the comments system took out my “enter” descriptions and printed it as “hellohello”. Sorry for the confusion. Here is point 2 again without the confusion:

    2. I can’t seem to send new line characters. Am I doing something wrong? I tried checking & unchecking CRLF but it didn’t seem to make any difference. For example, if I put a loop-back on my serial port and type “hello(enter)hello(enter)” the com shows “hellohello” on the terminal regardless of whether or not CRLF is checked.

    • brianjhoskins says :

      Hmm, again it took out my pointed brackets! Okay no problem – I will not use any pointed brackets in your site comments. But I think my point is now clear anyway 🙂

  3. atomsoft says :

    🙂 Thanks for the reply again, ill take a look at those issues… The time entry is for line delay… some PIC/ARM devices i create can only handle a certain amount of data at a time or depend on 1 line, then perform a action then another line and perform a action, where the action may take a few hundred ms to perform. Thanks and expect a fix today.

    • brianjhoskins says :

      Ah okay yes – I understand about the PIC/ARM interfacing. That’s useful.

      I will continue to use your terminal program and I’ll feed back any weird behaviour if/when it crops up.

      Cheers!

      Brian.

      • atomsoft says :

        As a side note you can set to 0 and it will not delay at all. I had some PC issues (C# would not open) but im back in now… and ill get working on the above fixes.

        Thank You! for testing and using and basically helping out. 🙂

Leave a Reply

